My Story: From Law Graduate to Business Coach

Have you ever been so focused on achieving a goal that you didn’t stop to think if it would make you happy when you achieved it?  I have!  But luckily enough I was put into a situation that made me stop and think about it.

For as long as I can remember I always wanted to be a solicitor.  I had a keen interest in the law and for a long time, for reasons I now can not figure out, qualifying as a solicitor was the definition of success to me.  I used to dream about making a lot of money (which now I realise a lot of solicitors do not), driving round in a nice car, going to work in a fancy office and having the title of ‘Solicitor’.  I was so tunnel visioned that I didn’t actually stop to think about if all of this was something I really wanted and if it would truly make me happy when I got there.

So I went to university and graduated with a Law Degree in 2014 and went on to gain my first full time position in a Law Firm.  I started my Legal Practice Course part time while working but then the firm I was working for closed down and I was made redundant  This put me behind with the payments for my Legal Practice Course, which, in a funny turn of events forced me to take a year out to catch up with the payments.  I had found another job in another Law Firm but the job was a non legal job.  I was working within the R&D unit developing a legal technology solution and also setting up the Customer Service Centre to support the technology.  So, through being forced to take a year out and finding a job doing something completely different my mind started to wonder about what else was out there.  I started to find myself making comments like ‘When I qualify as a solicitor I think I will move back over to the R&D unit’ or ‘I think I will set up my own business doing…’.  My boss even started to tell customers that when I qualified I would be coming back over to the R&D unit.  There were so many signs popping up trying to tell me that the goal I was so focused on was not the one I should be so bent on achieving but I ignored every sign and wondered why I was so stressed out and unhappy.  I had everything that I had ever wanted and I was working towards a goal that I had always wanted to achieve.  In the back of my mind I knew that something wasn’t right and something had to change.  I just couldn’t see what it was.

In my spare time I often found myself watching Oprah Prime and I remember watching the episode where she goes to one of Tony Robbins’ seminars and I was just so inspired.  So I then started to follow him and was obsessed with his techniques and how he got through to people and inspired them.  So one lazy Sunday, after watching Tony Robbins on YouTube I just googled Life Coaching, hoping to find more Life Coaches to inspire me and I come across a two day FREE taster Life Coaching course.  Well I didn’t even hesitate to sign up, it was FREE, and I was so excited to go on the course to try something new and meet like minded people.

I knew I would love every second of it, I have always been into self growth and motivating people to go after their dreams.  My cousin even used to tell me that if I didn’t want to be a solicitor so bad I should be a life coach, so it was definitely a course for me.  The whole of my first day on the Life Coach Course I was writing down my goals to ‘qualify as a solicitor’ and ‘have the money to pay for my LPC’.  It was only on the train on the way home when I started to do some digging and started to ask myself why it was so important to me and what will I get out of it when I achieve it, I then started to realise I no longer want to be a solicitor.  And just admitting that to myself at that moment I felt the biggest weight lifting from me.  It still took me a while to completely let go of my goal of being a solicitor and at times I felt conflicted, specially when I would see my friends in work getting Training Contracts and now I was completely back to square one, not knowing what I wanted to do with my life.  This was something I just was not used to and it took me a few months to find my feet again.

So I started to think about doing a Life Coach course and becoming a Life Coach.  I got onto an online Life Coaching course to test it out a little and started to read everything I could get my hands on.  My new goal was to become a Life Coach and get some experience doing that and then move on to Business Coaching.  I had always been business minded and have set up a few businesses myself to make some extra money throughout university, so then I started to think why not just go straight into Business Coaching.  From everything I had learned through setting up the Customer Service Centre in work (I swear. that was like setting up a business within its own right), managing the Customer Service Centre and from the experience I had gained from setting up a few business ventures myself, combining this with what I had learned from my coaching course I felt well equipped to go for it.  I had a lot of work to do and had a lot to figure out but I just couldn’t wait to get started.  My new goal was to help people get their business ideas off the ground and build the business they had always dreamed of.

I remember not so long ago saying to my mum that I want my own business and telling her that I had a lot of ideas but I didn’t just want my own business, I wanted something that I was passionate about.  And I said to her ‘I am just going to wait and it will come to me soon, and when it does I won’t even have to think about it, it will just happen and everything will fall into place.’  And it has!

I could be driving to work, taking a shower or walking the dog and ideas will just come to me.  That is how you know you are on the right path, when you don’t even have to try to build something you love.  It just happens so easily!  I am not saying that it is not hard work, because it is, and my brain never shuts off, but what I am saying is that you will figure it out and you will know what the next steps are that you need to take in order to get to where you want to be.

I am going to leave you with a quote from one of my favourite books of all time The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho (if you haven’t read it them make sure you add it to your read list). – “When you want something all the universe conspires in helping you achieve it.”

So if you have a similar story to mine then I would love to hear it in the comments below!

Have a great week!

Chelsi x

 

Leave a Reply

