My Top 3 Coaching Teachers

This month is all about coaching and in this post I want to share with you my top 3 teachers and influences in coaching.  The lessons I have learned from these people have been invaluable to me both in my business and in my personal life so hopefully this post will give you some pointers at where to start if you want to improve any area of your life.

I have always been fascinated with self help and working on myself to be the best version I can be but before I come across coaching I didn’t quite know what I was doing.  I was fascinated with Oprah, she is just so inspiring and I wanted to know how she did it.  What were her secrets to life? She just seemed to be so content and I wanted that for myself. I would read articles here and there and apply some of the things I had learned for a little bit but nothing really stuck.  I would search the internet for self discovery exercises and sit on Oprah’s website for hours but there was no structure to what I was doing.  Then one night I was watching Oprah Prime and it was the episode when she attended the Tony Robbins Seminar and that is when it all changed for me.

Once I had discovered Tony Robbins I had resources to go to and I knew what I was looking for when I was searching the internet.  I started to search for life coaching tips and techniques and found so much information and books it was a bit overwhelming.  I was trying to do too much and learn from too many people.  It all become a little bit stressful.

When we first start to research something we are presented with so much information we don’t know what is actually of use to us, we don’t know how to cut through all the drama and actually learn what we need to, there is just so much noise.  I never really got what people meant by ‘less is more’, how can less be more, I want to learn everything there is to learn about coaching so I want to learn from as many people I can.  But the more I researched different people the more overwhelmed I felt and I was just consuming information and not really putting it into practice.  So I broke it down and follow and learn from the 3 people who speak to me the most.  I resonate with what they say and they say it in a way that I just get.  And now I see what people mean by ‘less is more’, I take what they say and I put it into practice.  Knowledge only turns into power when we take action.

Tony Robbins is obviously first on the list as he was the person who inspired my coaching journey.  He is just amazing, the way he can read people still blows my mind and although I don’t think I will ever be on the same level as Tony Robbins I want to learn everything I can from him.  I am just in the middle of reading Awaken The Giant within and I am amazed by how the techniques he talks about 26 years ago still ring true today.  I would definitely recommend this book to anyone who wants to make a change to any part of their life or get a deeper understanding of why people do what they do.

Marie Forleo is the second coach I come across who I just couldn’t get enough of.  I just love her and feel like she is just talking to me, right down to her love of hip-hop.  I come across Marie Forleo when I first started to get into business coaching and thinking about setting up my business.  I sat there for days and watched so many episodes of Marie TV, I was a bit obsessed and still am.  I learn so much about business and success from Marie and I use so much of her teachings in my own business.  She is my business guru.

Brooke Catillo is the person who puts it all together for me.  It was when I started listening to Brooke’s podcast, The Life Coach School, that I really started putting self coaching into practice.  It was from Brooke that I learned the concept of how our thoughts create our feelings and how we can take full responsibility for our feelings without blaming other people.  Some of her teachings just blow my mind.  I am so obsessed with this podcast that I get my family to listen to it and I just won’t shut up about it.  I know that if I’m not having a great day then listening to an episode of The Life Coach School Podcast will always get me back on track.  If you are as obsessed with how the mind works as I am or if you would love to try some self coaching I would recommend listening to The Life Coach School Podcast from the beginning and working your way through them.

So, they are my top 3 teachers in coaching and I would love to hear who inspires you and who you love to learn from so leave me a note in the comments.

Chelsi x

Leave a Reply

